Welsh Cakes – Pice Ar y Maen

by cottontailsandcupcakes

We’ve spent the afternoon playing with our new bake stone. For me it conjures up old memories of spending rainy afternoons in with my grandad when I was a child.

We made a few batches of welsh cakes, plain, fruity and chocolate orange. I think I’ll be taking them to work tomorrow before I die of welsh cake associated obesity. 

225g self raising flour, 110g salted butter, 1egg, 85g caster sugar, 1/2 tsp mixed spice, extra butter for greasing bake stone.

Fillings – sultanas/chocolate orange/lemon zest..etc etc

Rub the fat into the flour. Add the sugar, mixed spice and filling of choice and then the egg. Mix to combine, then form a ball of dough. Roll out dough on a floured surface until 1/4inch. Cut into rounds. Butter the bakestone. Put it on to a direct heat and wait until it heats up, place the Welsh cakes on the griddle, turn after 2 to 3 minutes. Put onto a cooling rack and sprinkle with caster sugar.

Happy Welsh Cakes!

image

image

