Lanta – 5. Rafe and I – 1.

by cottontailsandcupcakes

Today I woke up and struggled to open my eyes fully. I looked in the mirror and had morphed into a clingon overnight. The sun burn from the day before yesterday had made the bridge of my nose and eyelids oedematous. Lanta – 1.

We hired another scooter. Harold Honda. He had a bit more go go than maureen and I didn’t have to walk up any hills this time. We headed out for Bamboo Bay. A quiet beach that hasnt been built on yet. Rafe and I – 1.

image

We parked up Harold and found the path. I successfully got over the fence, Rafe on the other hand, ripped his shorts on the way over. Lanta – 2.

There were only a handful of people on the beach. Mainly continental Europeans judging by the amount of breasts on show. We headed straight for the sea. The tide was on it’s way in which meant we were unaware of the amount of rocks on the sea bed.  Lanta – 3.

image

The sea was quite angry today. Waves were head height and with a heavy pull on them. One wave took us both out. I managed to keep hold of my flipflops and sunglasses, Rafe on the other hand lost his sunglasses and one shoe. Lanta – 5.

image

As lovely as Bamboo Bay was it most definitely had it in for us. We made it to the next village along where I got Rafe some sunglasses from 7 – eleven and a pair of knock of Havi’s from a swim shop.

image

image

We are now back at our hotel drowning our sorrows in a bag of Thai Hula Hoops. Tomorrow we have a 7 hour ferry ride to Langkawi, Malaysia.

