My Two Belizean Mamas

by cottontailsandcupcakes

Today we had a chill out day on Caye Caulker. There was a big thunderstorm last night but it was scorching again this morning. I’ve got a bit of sun stroke so avoided going out in the midday sun today, just spent the day relaxing in my hammock. We also rode our bikes around, up to the split and for food runs.

image

image

image

Whilst being in Belize we have adopted oursleves two new mamas. Mama Louise and Mama Liz. Mama Louise runs our cabanas. There are only 3 cabanas on the plot and she takes care of everything. When we go out for breakfast she cleans our room and rearranges all of our things. She even hung up all my clean laundry today including my knickers. She knows the ins and outs of Caulker. She also does the Mumsy thing of making sure you have suncream on. It’s like a home from home. I’ll be sad to leave Caulker tomorrow.

image

image

Then there’s Mama Liz. Mama Liz brings the food. She runs a cafe from her home. She was cooking chicken stew, rice and beans tonight. It was so good.

image

We were all set for an early night and then as we arrived back after dinner we were invited for a drink with an American couple. A few drinks turned into 3 bottles of rum, a bottle of brandy, half a bottle of vodka, a crate of beer and another Italian couple. Oh and a few rounds of ring of fire thrown in. I chickened out early on.

image

Rafe is currently hugging the toilet bowl having just vomited over the bathroom wall. The whole cabana stinks. Being sober with a drunk person is painful. I think he’s sleeping on the bathroom floor tonight. Oh and did I mention? We have to get on a boat tomorrow. Bad times Rafe.

