Tikal National Park

by cottontailsandcupcakes

We set off at 3am this morning and took the hour and a half journey to Tikal National Park. Praying that the armed robbers who work in this area didn’t target our van. I had my money belt stuffed in my shorts and other money stuffed in my bra just incase.
We climbed temple IV to 212 foot, the highest temple in this mayan region. It was really cloudy and misty this morning so sunrise wasn’t much but after the twenty gazillion steps to the top of the temple the hour sit down was lovely. At a couple of points Rafe had to prod me as I had fallen asleep. It was really relaxing…and I was really tired.

We then carried on with our guided tour of tikal. The temples are huge and restoration is still under way but they keep running out of money. The park doesn’t see any of the entrance fees, corrupt developing world government and all that. Considering it is a major Guatemalan tourist attraction there were hardly any people there.

We finally got back on the bus at 11am to return to our hotel. I’m not feeling guilty about the double icecream I just ate at all. Tikal is a workout.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

